Africa Food Prize 2020

The Africa Food Prize is the preeminent award recognizing an outstanding individual or institution that is leading the effort to change the reality of farming in Africa—from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives.

The US $100,000 prize celebrates Africans who are taking control of Africa’s agriculture agenda. It puts a spotlight on bold initiatives and technical innovations that can be replicated across the continent to create a new era of food security and economic opportunity for all Africans.



Africa Food Prize Laureates

News & Updates

Follow the latest news and updates on Food in Africa

Corteva to sponsor Africa Food Prize Winners to USA
Accra, Sept. 10, GNA – Corteva Agriscience, an agriculture firm that provides farmers with hybrid seeds, crop protection and digital
Read more.
Outstanding Smallholder Farmer and Eminent Agricultural Policy Advocate share 2019 Africa Food Prize
Dr. Emma Naluyima of Uganda and Baba Dioum of Senegal are named joint winners of the US$100,000 prize at the
Read more.
IITA initiates STEP to encourage participation of school children in agribusiness
At the 2018 Africa Food Prize (AFP) ceremony in Kigali, Rwanda, IITA Director General, Dr Nteranya Sangingareiterated his commitment to invest in the future of
Read more.